Original Poem 19

Standard

For Mother’s Day, I went with my mom to see the van Gogh exhibit at the Art Institute.

I also wrote this sonnet for her, which depicts parts of her past fused with elements of motherhood and the present. The first photo is of my mother during a flute lesson in India.

A Portrait of My Mother

Your past is foreign, India your heart,

to us, whose life you made in motherhood.

You shared your stories, let us be a part,

and from each one we grew and understood

your talents, more than Vishvarupa’s arms,

your courage, honesty, compassion, smarts

your humbleness disguises many charms,

that we in secret are your counterparts

and mimic traits that we admire more

than we admit. For I am more aware

of beauty in the world, and I explore

the depths of others and myself. I swear

that you have taught me more than you will know;

the life you paint inspires like van Gogh.

Leave a Reply

